WISCONSIN COUNCIL ON FORESTRY

councilonforestry.wi.gov



Tony Evers, Governor

Reply to: P.O. Box 7921 Madison, WI 53707-7921 Office: (715) 453-3274 x314 Email: <u>tom.hittle@steigerwaldt.com</u>

August 29, 2022

Secretary Preston Cole Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources PO Box 7921 Madison, WI 53707-7921

RE: Wisconsin Council on Forestry FY2023-25 Budget Priorities

Dear Secretary Cole:

On behalf of the Wisconsin Council on Forestry we would like to thank you and your staff for the time you provided us to present and discuss items the Council has identified as priorities for FY23-25 budget considerations.

Funding for forestry programs is an investment that supports vigorous and resilient forests throughout our rural and urban communities benefiting water quality, recreational opportunities, mitigating climate change impacts and our state's overall economy.

The Council plays an important role in bringing the State's broad forestry community together to address the needs of our forestland owners, our industry, and all the vital components of the fiber supply chain, who work diligently to manage our forest resources wisely for future generations.

The letter we prepared and forwarded to you through Heather, prior to the August 11th visit, outlined the Council's recommendations for new, continued, and increasing budget support. We greatly appreciate consideration for these recommendations and would especially like to draw your attention to the request for additional dedicated DNR staff to support Council activities. We are on the cusp of several new and exciting initiatives, such as the hope of the Build Back Better grant and embarking on a forest industry visioning/road mapping project. Additional support to manage council and project logistics will result in better outcomes.

We would be happy discuss details for any recommendation provided. Please feel free to contact us if we can be of further assistance.

Respectfully,

Thomas J. Hitt

Thomas Hittle Council Chair

cc: Sarah Barry, Steven Little

Matt Dolluran

Matt Dallman Council Vice Chair

Chairman • Matt Dallman Vice-Chair

Tom Hittle

Heather Berklund

•

Sen. Janet Bewley

Michael Bolton

Sen. Mary Felzkowski

James Hoppe

•

Buddy Huffaker

James Kerkman

Rebekah Luedtke

Rep. Katrina Shankland

■ Rep. Jeffrey Mursau

•

Ken Price

Erik Rantala

. .

Dr. Adena Rissman

Henry Schienebeck

Jason Sjostrom

•

Jordan Skiff

Jim Gries

(Acting USFS Representative)

Dr. William Van Lopik