

WISCONSIN COUNCIL ON FORESTRY

Tony Evers, Governor

councilonforestry.wi.gov

Reply to: P.O. Box 7921 Madison, WI 53707-7921 Office: 715-453-3274 x314 Email: <u>tom.hittle@ steigerwaldt.com</u>

October 22, 2019

Senator Tammy Baldwin 30 West Mifflin Street, Suite 700 Madison, WI 53703

Re: Safe Routes Act of 2019 (H.R. 2453/S. 1509)

Dear Senator Baldwin:

The Wisconsin Council on Forestry is in support of the Safe Routes Act. This legislation gives truckers hauling raw forest material a choice of routes including access to the interstate system for short distances. Legislation such as the Safe Routes Act, is needed to allow state legal log trucks the option to avoid rural and urban streets and highways and populated areas where pedestrian activities are numerous and where frequent intersections increase traffic safety concerns.

The Safe Routes Act is a commonsense example of modest legislative action that would simply allow truck operators the option of taking the safest most direct route from the harvesting site to the forest product facility.

Several safety-oriented exemptions diverting state legal trucks to the interstate have already been enacted with great success including specific route designations in Wisconsin, Minnesota, Maine, Texas, and Louisiana. These state level exemptions have been supported by State Departments of Transportation.

The Wisconsin Council on Forestry, charged by Wisconsin statute with advising our state Department of Natural Resources, legislators, and Governor on forestry matters is asking for your support of legislation that addresses this important issue.

Sincerely,

Thomas Hittle, Chair Wisconsin Council on Forestry

Cc: Senator Ron Johnson Representative Bryan Steil Representative Mark Pocan Representative Ron Kind Representative Gwen Moore Representative James Sensenbrenner, Jr. Representative Mike Gallagher WDNR Secretary Preston Cole

Tom Hittle Chairman Tomahawk

Matt Dallman Vice-Chair Tomahawk

Sen. Janet Bewley Ashland

> Troy Brown Antigo

James Hoppe Tomahawk

James Kerkman Bangor

Rep. Jeffrey Mursau Crivitz

> Ken Price Stevens Point

Henry Schienebeck Butternut

> Jane Severt Rhinelander

Jason Sjostrom Hayward

Jordan Skiff Fond du Lac

Fred Souba Wisconsin Rapids

> Paul Strong Rhinelander

Sen. Tom Tiffany Madison

Richard Wedepohl Madison

> Ken Zabel Janesville